Review: Beautiful World

By: Alison Young

Date: 31/08/2018

Published: HARPCOLUMN

Dutch harpist Anne Vanschothorst calls herself a minimalist harpist and tirelessly advocates for harp to be heard more often in films, multi-media, and art projects. Her new album, Beautiful World, is a wandering amalgam of moods and color, absolutely ideal as a visual narrative. It’s not exactly New Age, for sure not background music, and I wouldn’t necessarily call her music minimalist, as I hardly feel static. There’s more a quality of sonic atmospheres, dream-like and unfolding as if in slow-motion, but always in motion as we lean in to see what might be around the next bend.

Anne’s palette seems to know no bounds, exhibited right from the outset with the combination of crystalline arpeggios against the husky whisper of Michael Moore’s clarinet in “All is Well,” which ends questioning and unresolved.

Percussionist Arthur Bont says he feels more like a melodic than rhythmic instrumentalist, and he proves his point as he expertly lends his response to the rush of melody spilling from Anne’s harp in “My Heart is Bending.” Indeed, the wildly beating heart of this sparrow is still able to be mended. There is still hope, and I was riveted. The addition of organ from Thijs de Melker in “Terra Incognito” hits you in the solar plexus, gently but inexorably, like sub-audible sounds heard at great depths and distances. At the opening of her liner notes, Anne includes a poem by Danny Danker with these lines:

…is it true
that whales sing
because the ocean itself
can’t cry…

Indeed.

 

Rebecca Sier’s fragile voice adds another layer of mystery to the track “Why,” which questions life, all that we love and live for, and its brevity as we must reach its inevitable end. Gentle, but searing.

“Indeed a Space Oddity” introduces the warm velvety textures of cellist, Jan Willem Troost. He returns in the title track, furnishing the tactile, naturally decaying quality of the harp with a sense of the infinite. A beautiful disc. •

 

 

 

Review: Beautiful World

By: Ron Schepper

Date: 5/8/2017

Published: textura

Anne Vanschothorst's 2014 album EK IS EIK (I Am Oak) featured the Dutch harpist collaborating on individual tracks with trumpet, viola da gamba, percussion, and bass players, an idea taken to a slightly further extreme on her latest, Beautiful World. Two of the players on the earlier release, bassist Thijs de Melker and percussionist Arthur Bont, return on the new set, this time joined by Michael Moore (clarinet), Jan Willem Troost (cello), and Rebecca Sier (vocals). Issued on Vanschothorst's own HSM label (Harp and Soul Music), the album presents eleven ‘harPoems' in a style she describes as meditative landscape music. In keeping with such a concept, the material is generally dreamlike in character, serene in mood, accessibly neoclassical in style, and enchanting in effect. It's, in short, an extremely pretty music that benefits greatly from the varied contributions of her guests. As exemplified by the fifty-three-minute recording, the resplendent timbre of the harp enables it to blend particularly well with any number of instruments, whether it be a woodwind, cello, or the human voice. In the case of the three pieces on which Moore appears and the one featuring Sier, Vanschothorst assumes somewhat of a supporting role; on the tracks featuring percussionist Bont, on the other hand, his playing acts as support to her lead. Though the balance might shift from one track to another, the harp always provides a strong foundation that allows her guests to improvise freely, comfortable in the knowledge that the harp is there to solidly ground their extemporizations. The beautiful sound produced by Vanschothorst's forty-seven-string instrument is on display throughout. In general, she favours an uncluttered style that for the most part eschews the kind of dazzling strums often associated with the harp for crystal-clear fingerpicking; it's an approach that also works well for the recording in allowing the others' contributions to be heard with maximum clarity. She and Moore inaugurate the album on a largely peaceful note with the wistful “All Is Well,” after which Bont's mini-arsenal of talking and hand drums shadows her every move during “My Heart Is Bending.” “Terra Incognita” sees de Melker on bass and organ accompanying Vanschothorst in a ponderous meditation that exudes some of the minimalistic spirit and grace of an Arvo Pärt setting. Though Troost's cello doesn't appear until seven tracks into the release, it's well worth the wait when his playing on “Lost Child,” “Indeed a Space Oddity,” and the stirring closer “Beautiful World” aligns so splendidly with Vanschothorst's. On “Why,” the meander of Sier's alluring vocal possesses a little bit of the quality of Susanna Wallumrød's singing, especially in the vulnerability of Sier's emotional expression. With de Melker also on board, the song stands out as the album's most memorable piece and its arguable high point. Of course, the human voice being as powerful an instrument as it is, it hardly surprises that the piece would be so memorable; if anything, it's a shame Sier appears once only. As satisfying as it is, Beautiful Worldwould have benefited from another song or two featuring the vocalist; in fact, the combination of harp and voice is so effective, Vanschothorst might want to consider producing an entire album of vocal-harp duets as her next release.

 

Review: Beautiful World

By: Joost Festen

Date: 28/7/2017

Published: 8weekly

 

Terwijl er een mooie serie cd’s verschijnt over de Nederpophistorie onder de verzamelnaam The Golden Years of Dutch Pop Music, wordt er in Nederland nog steeds heel mooie muziek gemaakt, die internationale klasse herbergt. In deze Nederpop-update reizen we muzikaal langs wat pareltjes. In deze update vestigen we de aandacht op niet voor de hand liggende releases, van de afgelopen maanden. We duiken hiermee in allerlei hoeken en gaten van de vaderlandse muziek. Ze hebben allen een hoge mate van kwaliteit in zich: noem het maar gerust “vakmanschap”.

De harp centraal

Het nieuwste album van Anne Vanschothorst wordt in een heel kleine oplage uitgebracht. Wie zo’n drie jaar geleden viel voor Ek is Eik moet er vlug bij zijn om Beautiful World te bemachtigen via de site van Vanschothorst. Eigenlijk verdient deze dame een even groot podium als Lavina Meijer. Toch zullen we Vanschothorst niet op een podium tegen gaan komen om haar muziek voor een publiek uit te voeren. Ze kiest er nadrukkelijk voor om haar muziek op een andere wijze te gelde te maken. Zo schrijft ze veel filmmuziek, die we in een veelheid van producties terug horen. Net als op haar vorige album staat ook hier de harp centraal.

Op dit nieuwe album valt evenwel heel veel te genieten. In de elf harpgedichten, zoals Vanschothorst haar composities noemt, laat ze vooral haar hart spreken. De gedichten vertellen over schoonheid, liefde, troost en muziek, laat de kunstenares weten in het bijgeleverde boekje. Ze speelt de muziek samen met haar band: Rebecca Sier componeerde mee en horen we zingen op een enkele track (‘Why’), Michael Moore componeerde ook mee en laat zich horen op de klarinet. Jan Willem Troost speelt op cello, Thijs de Melker op bas en tekent tevens voor de productie. Tenslotte horen we Arthur Bont op percussie en drum. De hoofdrol voor het grootste deel van de composities en het bespelen van de harp is natuurlijk voor Vanschothorst zelf. Het album Beautiful World ademt vooral een grote rust, maar ook vakmanschap uit. De muziek balanceert tussen klassieke-, film- en popmuziek. Een wonderlijke combinatie, maar horen is in dit geval geloven. Het is daarnaast muziek om te ontleden en om op je te laten inwerken. ‘Inmasseren’ is misschien een beter woord. Muziek van een kunstenares met een grote K.

 

 

Review: Beautiful World

By: Gregory Applegate Edwards

Date: 26/7/2017

Published: Gapplegate Music Review

I am generally not one to quibble about musical categories. Yet the internet has made categorical hair-splitting of tantamount importance. So when faced with a release that might fit in a number of blogs I do, I must mull it over somewhat carefully. If I post my review of harpist-composer Anne Vanschothorst's CD Beautiful World  (HSM) on this blogsite it is not because it would not equally belong on my Classical-Modern Music Review site. I place it here because I think perhaps the widest audience might be reached, an audience well versed in ambiance with a sort of quasi-ECM spaciousness.

To start at the top, I have been covering the beautiful harp artistry of Anne Vanschothorst for a while (do a search for her music in the search box of the classical blog). This new one has as a simple premiss some 11 compositions, all featuring Anne's meditative harp and one or more additional performers. So we get Anne with clarinetist Michael Moore, percussionist-drummer Arthur Bont, Thijs de Melker on organ, piano, or bass, Rebecca Star on vocals, and Jon Willem Troost on cello.

It is indeed a music of beauty, ambient not in the tonal fluffdom of typical "new age" music but in the concentric affectivity of Satie and beyond.

There is music anyone might appreciate--for example my spouse and one of the housemates both responded well as they passed through my listening space. And it also offers substantial results for those who demand more exacting content, which I of course do.

It is a moving slice of harp bliss and incisive compositional ambient moodiness. Perhaps it is Anne's best yet! In any case I do strongly recommend this one to you.

Review: Beautiful World

By: Mel Minter

Date: 4/7/2017

Published: Musically Speaking

Dutch harpist Anne Vanschothorst variously describes her moody, minimalist music as “sound sculptures,” “landscape music,” and “harPoems”—apt descriptions one and all. Her constructions, which on Beautiful Worldtypically include her harp and one or two other instruments, don’t seek so much to develop a musical idea as to express and deepen a specific feeling. These still, warm pools of sound offer consolation and a spare beauty. From the repose and gratitude of “All Is Well” to the somber reflections of “Something Moved Me” to the lamentation of “Why” to the soothing lullaby of the title track—each composition carves out a time and space that you can almost walk around in. Vanschothorst records her harp parts in her home studio in The Hague, while her colleagues consult with her and add their parts at the Amsterdam studio of Thijs de Melker. Despite this displacement of time and space, the parts blend seamlessly. Collaborators include Michael Moore, who coaxes flutelike tones from his clarinet; the expressive cellist Jan Willem Troost; percussionist Arthur Bont; de Melker on organ, piano, and bass; and vocalist Rebecca Sier. © 2017 Mel Minter. All rights reserved.

 

 

 

 

Review: Beautiful World

By: Soumtra Bhattacharjee

Date: 3/7/2017

Published: Classical Times / xpressionlab

I have known Anne Vanschothorst (Harp and Soul Music) for a long time and “Beautiful World” is the second masterpiece from her that I have had the pleasure of listening to and in a word i can say it is spellbinding. To me, it is like a journey, where you watch the familiar shores of your current setting receding behind you while the musical horizon keeps growing bigger and engulfing you in its warm embrace. Each composition is exceptionally structured. Think of it this way – the harp as the path that unravels the beautiful & previously unexplored scenery with each accompanying instrument and vocal track as an integral musical landscape element. Everything is crafted to perfection, every musician putting in their heart and soul through their respective instruments, sounds and vocals. All the emotions are there for you to feel, from the upbeat to the melancholic, pensive and joyous. And when you reach the end of the path you feel refreshed, energized and happy having taken that little musical meditative journey with Anne and her friends.

Anne Vanschothorst is one of the view composers in the world who produces applied music with the harp as basis material and a pioneer in the field of original minimal harp music. She advocates that harp-based-audio-productions should be heard more often in film, multi-media and art-projects. Because the pure sound of this string-instrument has the unique quality to blend natural with spoken word, visuals and nature/ambient-sounds, even more so than the traditional orchestral music. Her recent work is placed e.g. in the cinema-movie and national television documentary “Levende Rivier / Living River” by film maker Ruben Smit, Discovery Communications (Animal Planet, Discovery Channel, TLC ao) and a GUCCI infomercial. Anne finds it important to be an indie-artist, due to the artistic- freedom that comes with it. The internet makes it easier to generate free publicity and opens a world of possibilities to make name for HSM (harp and soul music) herself and to develop as a creative entrepreneur.

 

Review: Beautiful World

By: Marçal Borotau

Date: 29/6/2017

Published: sonograma

 

Títol: Beautiful World
Autora: Anne Vanschothorst
Intèrprets: Anne Vanschothorst, Rebecca Sier, Michael Moore, Jan Willem Troost, Thijs de Melker, Arthur Bont
Segell discogràfic: HSM (harp and soul music)

 

«L’arpa és el meu cor, la música la meva passió i crear és la màxima expressió de la meva llibertat.» Quan al febrer de 2016 vàrem escoltar EK IS EIK vàrem afirmar que la música de Anne Vanschothorst testimoniava el món interior de la compositora. Una música lligada a la naturalesa, Toca l’arpa des dels nou anys, i quan en tenia catorze va compondre la seva primera peça. L’any 2007 va crear el seu propi segell indie, HSM (harp and soul music) perquè necessitava sentir-se a prop del seu cor i al capdavant de la seva producció musical. És intuïtiva, autodidacta i s’enfronta obertament als seus propis dimonis. El nou àlbum, Beautiful World, és un pas endavant en la mateixa direcció: la natura, la poesia, la música i l’arpa donen sentit a la seva activitat interpretativa i compositiva. El seu objectiu és compondre tan autèntic, tan original i tan ple de vida com sigui possible. A Beautiful World, el seu nou projecte, hi ha incloses onze peces d’una exquisida sensibilitat i delicadesa. Per aquest viatge musical ha trobat els companys ideals. L’oient percep les refinades relacions entre els músics: el delicat fraseig de la peça inicial All is well amb el clarinetista Michael Moore, els diàlegs afables entre l’arpa i el baix (o l’orgue…) de Thijs de Melker, la complicitat amb la veu de Rebecca Sier, o com el violoncel de Jan Willem Troost s’engrandeix amb l’arpa, i de fons, la fràgil remor de la percussió d’Arthur Bont. Són, fet i fet, un grup de músics que recrea el sentiment elegíac de la naturalesa, a través d’una narració poètica, sovint dialogada. Vanschothorst sap que l’arpa és el més pur de tots els instruments, que té un timbre únic i que es combina espontàniament amb els sons de la natura i la paraula. La música d’Anne Vanschothorst es poetitza dins un espai i un temps que és l’essència de la música. Aquest disc és tot un antídot a l’actual moment on sembla que l’hostilitat humana es dirigeix contra la natura. 

 

 

 

Review: Beautiful World

By: Jop Euwijk

Date: 27/6/2017

Published: muziekweb

 

 

Met muziek kun je imaginaire beeldhouwwerken maken en landschappen vormgeven. Dat is in ieder geval de mening van Anne Vanschothorst. De Nederlandse componist noemt haar muziek sound-sculptures en landscape music. Mooie woorden die op papier misschien wat onduidelijk zijn, maar meteen op zijn plaats vallen zodra haar muziek klinkt. Dat geldt ook voor ‘harPoems’ een andere beschrijving van haar composities. Vanschothorst maakt gedichten op de harp. De fijnzinnige tonen werken direct op je fantasie. Sluit je ogen en je ziet de mooiste natuur of de meest intrigerende architectuur. De harpiste wordt bijgestaan door topmusici als klarinettist Michael Moore (Boy Edgar-prijs in 1986), bassist/toetsenist Thijs de Melker en drummer Arthur Bont. (JE)

 

Review: Beautiful World

By: Mane Stelzer

Date: 26/6/2017

Published: Melodiva

 

“Alles, was mich beeindruckt, wird von meinen 47 Saiten übersetzt. Die Stücke erzählen eine Geschichte über die Suche und das Verlangen nach einer schönen Welt“, schreibt die niederländische Harfinistin und Komponistin Anne Vanschothorst über ihr neues, zweites Werk. Auf diesem hat sie elf „harPoems“ versammelt, „Soundskulpturen“, auf denen sie von Vergänglichkeit („Why“), Angst vor Veränderung und Zweifeln („Terra Incognita“), vom Verlorensein, aber auch vom Zustand, in dem gerade alles gut ist, erzählt. Zu ihren „Harfenmonologen“ hat sie jeweils ein bis zwei weitere MusikerInnen geladen: eine Klarinette (Michael Moore), eine Stimme (Rebecca Sier), Cello (Jan Willem Troost), Schlagzeug/Percussion (Arthur Bont), Keyboard und Bass (Thijs de Melker). Daraus sind musikalische Zwiegespräche entstanden, die sich Zeit lassen und viel Ruhe ausstrahlen; Musik zum Innehalten, Nachdenken, Träumen und genau Hinsehen, wo die Schönheiten der Welt verborgen sind.

 

MELODIVA CD Tipp Juni 2017

CD, 2017, 11 Tracks, Label: Harp And Soul Music

Mane Stelzer

 

 

 

Review: Beautiful World
By: Anneke Ruys
Date: 16/6/2017

Published: On Top Of Music Magazine

Eens in de zoveel tijd krijg je een luisterschijfje in handen waarvan de muziek je meteen raakt. Beautiful World is zo een album. Anne Vanschothorst is harpiste en componeert minimalistische muziek voor de harp. Haar debuutalbum Ek is Eik verscheen enkele jaren terug en dat was ook een plaat om te koesteren. Omdat de original minimal harp music zo mooi versmelt met spoken word, visuals, natuur/omgevingsgeluiden is Anne Vanschothorst een veelgevraagd muzikante voor audioproducties in film, multimedia en kunstprojecten. Beautiful World is de opvolger van Ek is Eik en de inspiratie ervoor kwam voort uit authentieke muziek, poëzie, film, visual art, natuur en ook de dagelijkse dingen. Schoonheid en troost, liefde en muziek zijn de inspiratiebronnen. Vanaf het eerste nummer word je al gegrepen door de melancholische en meeslepende klanken van harp, clarinet en cello. Je krijgt het gevoel dat je je even kunt afsluiten voor de wereld buiten en je mee kunt laten voeren naar stille, magische plekken. Je realiseert je ook dat deze muziek zo rijk is dat er niet per se een zangstem bij nodig is (al is die hier wel sporadisch te horen met een prachtig resultaat in Why). De klanken spreken voor zich en geven je precies datgene wat je nodig hebt voor een ultieme muziekbeleving. Improvisatie en intuïtie zijn belangrijk voor de muziek van Anne van Schothorst. Ook deze plaat zit weer vol met alleen maar sprankelende pareltjes die alleszins het beluisteren waard zijn. Een groeibriljantje dat alleen maar mooier wordt naarmate je ernaar luistert. Voor meer informatie https://www.harpandsoul.com/ ***** (AR)

 

 

 

 

 

Review: Beautiful World

By: Jan de Kruijff

Date: 25/5/2017

Published: musicalifeiten

Anne van Schothorst: Beautiful world. ‘All is well’; ‘My heart was bending’; ‘Something moved me’; ‘Terra incognita’; ‘Oh let it have voice’; ‘Why’; ‘Lost child’; ‘If these wings could fly’; ‘Indeed a space oddity’; ‘Today I am a bird’; ‘Beautiful world’. Met Michael Moore (kl), Arthur Bont (slagw), Thijs de Melder (org, p), Rebecca Sier (vocals), Jan Willem Troost (vc). HSM  17052-2 (52’53”). 2017

 

In april 2014 verscheen de cd Ek is eik (Big Round BR 8932) van harpiste Anne Vanschothorst waarop ze samenwerkte met jazztrompettiste Saskia Laroo, sampler Bob van Luijt, basgitarist Thijs de Melker,  gambist  Ernst Stolz  en slagwerker Arthur Bont. Toen al werd duidelijk dat de harpiste de gebaande wegen van de klassieke concertante-, ensemble-, solo- en bewerkingen wereld radicaal achter zich liet en daarvoor in de plaats heel nieuwe, met de jazz- en popwereld verbonden genres als ‘landschapsmuziek’ en ‘droommuziek’ ontsloot. Dat dit veel mogelijkheden biedt en men als harpist niet vooral en hoofdzakelijk op gangbaar solistisch werk en samenspel met fluit, viool of orgel is aangewezen bleek dra op effectieve wijze. Ook op haar nieuwe uitgave met elf in essentie meditatieve, verdroomde nummers is dat meteen hoorbaar in de goed gebruikte wisselende instrumentale kleuren die samen met de gastmusici worden ontwikkeld in elf nummers, in het informatieve tekstboekje ingeleid door het gedicht For you van Danny Danker. Wat zo tot stand kwam, is een programma van zo’n drieënvijftig minuten luistermuziek met vertakkingen richting beeldende filmmuziek en romantische jazz. Het verrassende is dat de luisteraar bij eerste kennismaking nog niet weet waar de reis heen gaat. Dat de website van Anne Vanschothorst met meer nuttige info Harp and soul heet, is een goede vingerwijzing. Haar samenwerking met cineasten en dichters werpt mooie kruisbestoven vruchten af. Achter de muziekhorizon is ook iets van Satie en Glass te vermoeden. Als genre best bijzonder en in de realisatie – tot en met het boekje met zo uitgebreide toelichting dat het gebruikte lettertype nogal klein is uitgevallen – keurig geslaagd.

.....

landscapemusicorg.png

'Minimal harp in landscape music reflects and evokes landscape, nature and place.' AV | LandscapeMusic.org